Strictly Come Dancing 2019 line-up: Celebrity contestants confirmed as first 3 announced | TV & Radio | Showbiz & TV

Strictly Come Dancing 2019 line-up: Celebrity contestants confirmed as first 3 announced | TV & Radio | Showbiz & TV

Strictly Come Dancing announced its first three celebrity names on The One Show tonight, as Stacey Dooley joined Matt Baker to reveal the news.

The first star joining the show is England footballer David James, who revealed he was “shell-shocked” about the news.

The second to follow suit was comedian Chris Ramsey, who spoke about how his wife felt about the exciting news.

The third person announced was EastEnders favourite Emma Barton. 

David James is the first 2019 Strictly Come Dancing contestant

David James was announced on The One Show on Wednesday evening

David was the first contestant announced to be taking part in Strictly Come Dancing 2019, as last year’s winner Stacey and co-host Matt delivered the exciting news on The One Show Wednesday.

David, who received an MBE for his services to football and charity in 2012, is a former England football goalkeeper.

Retiring from the sport in 2013, David has been involved in a number of projects, including modelling for H&M and working as a football analyst and building up his television personality.

Now the star will be taking on a new challenge and slipping on his ballroom dancing shoes, and is looking forward to the opportunity to try and win the Glitterball trophy.

“Wow, I’m shell-shocked yeah,” he told the presenters. “I’ve had to keep it a secret for so long. I told my mum, and she forgot.”

David went on to say he’s been asked to take part in the competition “a few times”, but this year was the moment he was primed and ready to commit.

“It was an amazing experience and amazing show,” David commented. “So this time round I said yeah….”

He then admitted: “I did have a little bit of a practice before I came on. Well I’m here aren’t I? I was knackered.”

READ MORE:  David James: Who is Strictly Come Dancing 2019 star David James?

Chris Ramsey is the second 2019 Strictly Come Dancing contestant

Chris Ramsey was announced on The One Show on Wednesday evening

Chris is a critically acclaimed stand-up comedian and is often seen turning up on different TV shows to deliver his own brand of comedy.

Sharing how he feels about taking part in the show, he shared: “I’m both excited and absolutely terrified to be doing the show.”

“You will not find me on the dance floor at parties, you will find me at the buffet table,” he then went on to say, hinting he will have some trouble learning the dance moves. 

“All night. At my wedding I danced with my wife,” he continued with a chuckle. “That one song took about six months practice, and I definitely stood on her feet a couple of times.

“So I’m looking forward to the possibility of making a fool of myself in front of millions of people… there better be a buffet after the live shows,” he joked.

Following the live annoucement, Chris took to his official Twitter account to elaborate on the news. 

“A weight has been lifted!” the star declared. “I’ve been keeping that secret for so long, I’m doing Strictly Come Dancing this year!”

“Very excited, very nervous. You know, I’ll either be good, or I’ll be so rubbish it will be funny anyway, so happy days!”

Emma Barton is the third 2019 Strictly Come Dancing contestant

Emma Barton was announced on The One Show on Wednesday evening

Emma plays fan-favourite Honey Mitchell on BBC soap EastEnders.

The character joined Albert Square in 2005, and has had a tumultuous relationship with stalwart Billy Mitchell (Perry Fenwick) ever since.

Now soap fans will be delighted to see Emma in an entirely different setting, as she dons a sparkly outfit and dances under the glittering studio lights on Strictly.

“As possibly one of the biggest Strictly fans on the planet, I still can’t believe this is happening,” she revealed to presenters Matt and Stacey.

“I’m very much a dance around your handbag kinda girl, but now I’ve been given this wonderful opportunity to learn all the different styles of dancing from the very best in the business,” the star added.

Strictly Come Dancing returns to BBC One next month.

Strictly Come Dancing 2019

Strictly fever is beginning to sweep the UK right now as the BBC have begun announcing the 2019 line-up to eager fans.

Viewers will have to keep their eyes peeled across the BBC and some lucky ITV programmes to discover who will be taking part.

In the past, the show has launched a new name each day on the likes of BBC Breakfast, BBC Radio, The One Show, and This Morning.


2004 winner: Natasha Kaplinsky

Newsreader Natasha Kaplinsky was the first celebrity to win the BBC dancing series. She was partnered with Brendan Cole. They finished 39 points ahead of competitor Christopher Parker.

2005 winner: Jill Halfpenny

Jill Halfpenny was the second star to impress the judges with her dancing skills. Partnered with Darren Bennett, the pair beat off competition from Julian Clary and Denise Lewis.

2006 winner: Darren Gough

Cricketer Darren Gough won the third series of Strictly. He and partner Lilia Kopylova wowed audiences but never once finished at the top of the leaderboard.

2007 winner: Mark Ramprakash

Mark Ramprakash was the fourth star to lift the Glitterball Trophy. He was partnered with Karen Hardy and they were the first couple to restart a routine after their initial attempt saw Mark’s mic get caught in Karen’s dress.

2008 winner: Alesha Dixon

Before becoming a Strictly judge, Alesha Dixon won the nation’s hearts and the Glitterball Trophy during the fifth series. She was partnered with professional dancer Matthew Cutler.

2009 winner: Tom Chambers

Holby City star Tom Chambers was partnered with Camilla Dallerup when he won the sixth series. He performed the Foxtrot and Salsa in the final week.

2010 winner: Chris Hollins

BBC Breakfast presenter Chris Hollins and his professional partner Ola Jordan surprised viewers when they beat Ricky Whittle and his partner Natalie Lowe in the final. They wowed with the Foxtrot, Charleston, Lindy Hop and Showdance.

2011 winner: Kara Tointon

Kara Tointon was the eighth celebrity to win Strictly. She danced with Artem Chigvintsev and failed to receive 40 points throughout her time on the show.

2012 winner: Harry Judd

Former McFly star Harry Judd was the ninth star to lift the Glitterball Trophy. He didn’t top the leaderboard until week seven but then scored 40 points twice in the final.

2013 winner: Louis Smith

The tenth series of the BBC show was won by Olympian Louis Smith. He danced his way to victory with professional partner Flavia Cacace. He faced competition from Kimberley Walsh, Denise Van Outen and Danni Harmer in the series finale.

2014 winner: Abbey Clancy

Model Abbey Clancy won series eleven of Strictly alongside partner Alijaz Skorjanec. She was called a “spectacular dancer” with “wonderful posture” by former head judge Len Goodman.

2015 winner: Caroline Flack

Love Island host Caroline Flack took to the dance floor in series 12 where she scooped the Glitterball Trophy with Pasha Kovalev.

2016 winner: Jay McGuiness

Jay McGuiness surprised viewers when he won the thirteenth series of the BBC dancing competition with Aliona Vilani. When he learned he’d won, he told host Tess Daly: “I feel spaced out – it’s really weird.”

2017 winner: Joe McFadden

The fourteenth winner of Strictly was Joe McFadden. The Holby City star beat off competition from fan favourite Debbie McGee, Gemma Atkinson and Alexandra Burke.

2018 winner: Stacey Dooley

Last year’s winner was Stacey Dooley. The BBC documentarian raced to the top to become a firm favourite with her professional dance partner Kevin Clifton. It was Kevin’s first year co-winning the trophy and there were tears all around.

Source link

About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply